Socially responsible business

Any company strives for a maximum efficiency, which allows for producing and selling quality products. However, the activities of commercial organizations also have a pronounced social component. The social responsibility of business in the economy is the proper quality of goods and services, a high level of production safety, normal working conditions for personnel and so on. The management theory still has no classical definition of the social responsibility of business. The meaning of this concept in many cases is perceived very subjectively, however, its main characteristics can be singled out. Unlike legal, social responsibility does not presuppose rigid norms.

It is businessmen’s voluntary duty to pursue a policy, to make decisions and to follow areas of activity, which are desirable in terms of the goals and values of the society. In other words, it is a kind of social contract between business, consumers and authority, whose goal is to contribute to the well-being of the whole society.

Criteria for assessing the social responsibility of a business may vary depending on a number of factors. For example - in which region does the company operate, what is its magnitude, capital structure, etc. The criteria can be an assessment of environmental protection, the quality of goods and services produced, relations with workers, activity in various charitable programs, etc.

Apparently, the higher the level of development of the society - the more stringent these criteria would be. Under the influence of external factors, the organizations are forced to become information-transparent and socially responsible. However, this gives the business significant advantages. As the research shows, the financial indicators of those companies that incorporate social responsibility into their mission are significantly improving.

The specific economic benefits with this approach may be the following:

• sales growth and improvement of the market position; • increase in labor productivity; • increase in the value of the company due to an appreciation of its reputation; • facilitating access to investments; • weakening of control from the state bodies, etc.

Together with the members of our academy, we develop options and programs to support social projects and methodology for implementing social initiatives


It is interesting

Ethical indices

To assess the social responsibility of corporations abroad, there are special ethical indices. Companies are included in them according to three main criteria: the effectiveness of environmental protection activities, the quality of relationships with employees and shareholders, and respect for human rights. Ethical indices serve as a benchmark for SRI-funds (socially responsible investments).

One of the packages of ethical indexes is FTSE4Good. To get into it, the companies that have a significant impact on the environment must fulfill a number of requirements. In particular, to undertake obligations for its protection, as well as to publish reports on its activities in this field over the past three years. It is important to have an ethical code and a policy of equal opportunities for employees. In addition, companies must declare their commitment to human rights and the standards set by the International Labor Organization.

Many companies initially cannot count on inclusion in FTSE4Good. For example, tobacco companies, arms manufacturers and companies in the nuclear energy sector. Noteworthy that only 64 out of 100 leading British companies could get into the index FTSE4Good..

The International Standardization Organization (ISO) issued an ISO 26000 guidance in 2010, which sets out international recommendations for increasing the company's social responsibility. The basis of it is a transparent and ethical behavior that promotes the health and well-being of the society.

The ISO 26000 standard helps the company build and implement a long-term social responsibility strategy, regardless of the nature of the business. The ISO 26000 standard will assist in the development of all aspects of the company’s activities: from the work technology to environmental policy, sustainable development and infrastructure, as well as personnel.

Социально ответственный бизнес

Любая компания стремится к максимальной эффективности, которая позволяет производить и продавать качественную продукцию. Однако деятельность коммерческих организаций имеет также ярко выраженную социальную составляющую. Социальная ответственность бизнеса в экономике – это должное качество товаров и услуг, высокий уровень безопасности производства, нормальные условия работы персонала и так далее.
Пока в зарубежной управленческой теории еще нет классического определения социальной ответственности бизнеса. Смысл данной концепции во многих случаях воспринимается очень субъективно, однако можно выделить ее основные характеристики. В отличие от юридической, социальная ответственность не предполагает жестких норм.

Это добровольная обязанность бизнесменов проводить такую политику, принимать такие решения и следовать таким направлениям деятельности, которые желательны с точки зрения целей и ценностей общества. Иными словами, это своеобразный общественный договор между бизнесом, потребителями и властью, цель которого – способствовать благу всего общества.

Критерии оценки социальной ответственности бизнеса могут быть различными в зависимости от ряда факторов. Например, в каком регионе работает компания, какова ее величина, структура капитала и т. д. В качестве критериев может выступать оценка охраны окружающей среды, качества производимых товаров и услуг, отношений с работниками, активности в различных благотворительных программах.

Очевидно, что чем выше уровень развития общества, тем строже эти критерии. Под воздействием внешних факторов организации вынуждены становиться информационно прозрачными и социально ответственными. Однако это дает бизнесу и значительные преимущества. Как показывают исследования, серьезно улучшаются финансовые показатели тех компаний, которые закладывают социальную ответственность в свою миссию.

Конкретные экономические выгоды здесь могут быть следующие:

• рост продаж и улучшение позиции на рынке;
• увеличение производительности труда;
• рост стоимости компании за счет повышения оценки ее репутации;
• облегчение доступа к инвестициям;
• ослабление контроля со стороны государственных органов и др.

Совместно с членами нашей академии мы разрабатываем варианты и программы поддержки социальных проектов, технологию реализации социальных инициатив.


Это интересно

Этические индексы

Для оценки социальной ответственности корпораций за рубежом существуют специальные этические индексы. Компании включаются в них по трем основным критериям: эффективность деятельности по защите окружающей среды, качество взаимоотношений с сотрудниками и акционерами и соблюдение прав человека. Этические индексы служат ориентиром для SRI-фондов (socially responsible investments).

Одним из пакетов этических индексов является FTSE4Good. Чтобы попасть в него, компании, оказывающие существенное воздействие на окружающую среду, должны выполнить ряд требований. В частности, взять на себя обязательства по ее охране, а также опубликовать отчеты о своей деятельности в этой области за последние три года. Важно наличие этического кодекса и политики равных возможностей для сотрудников. Кроме того, компании должны декларировать приверженность правам человека и стандартам, установленным Международной организацией труда.

Многие компании изначально не могут рассчитывать на включение в FTSE4Good. Например, табачные фирмы, производители оружия и компании сектора атомной энергетики. Отметим, что из 100 ведущих британских компаний в индекс FTSE4Good смогли попасть только 64.

Международной организацией по стандартизации (ISO) в 2010 году было выпущено руководство ISO 26000, в котором формулируются международные рекомендации по повышению социальной ответственности предприятия. В основе лежит прозрачное и этичное поведение, которое способствует здоровью и благополучию общества.

Стандарт ISO 26000 помогает предприятию выстроить и внедрить долгосрочную стратегию социальной ответственности вашей компании, причем, вне зависимости от характера бизнеса. Стандарт ISO 26000 будет способствовать проработке всех аспектов вашей деятельности: от технологий работы до экологической политики, устойчивого развития и инфраструктуры, а также персонала.